EDUCATION

sense that there shall be no religious education, although the highest morality must be inculcated. Education is compulsory upon all children between the ages of seven and fourteen, provided that there is a school within a reasonable distance of the child's home. For education purposes the province is divided into municipal and rural school districts, and the schools are of three classes, viz., municipality schools, rural schools and assisted schools. The municipality schools are subdivided into four classes, the government grant varying according to the class. Assisted schools are those established in outlying districts by sums granted specially by the provincial government, The local management of the schools is in the hands of trustees elected by the raterayers, the number varying according to the classification adopted by the Act and as prescribed therein. The schools are supported partly from the provincial treasury and partly from the sums raised by district assessment. In the common schools there are three grades: the junior, the intermediate and the senior.

Secondary Education.—The term "common school" is used to distinguish the elementary from the superior or high school. Wherever there are ten pupils qualified and available for high school studies a superior school may be formed in connection with the existing common school. The subjects of the junior high school course may be taught in the superior school. Wherever twenty or more pupils are qualified and available for high-school studies a high school is established. high school course is divided as follows: the preliminary course, junior grade; the advanced course, junior grade; the intermediate grade; the senior grade and the senior academic grade. There is also a commercial course covering three years. Provision is also made for agricultural and technical courses. Except in the case of the common schools, the passage from one grade to another is determined by an examination conducted by the Education Department. In June each year an entrance examination for admission to the high schools is conducted, and no pupil may enter a high school who does not possess the entrance certificate. There are normal schools for the training of teachers at Vancouver and at Victoria.

YUKON TERRITORY.

A Superintendent of Schools for the Yukon Territory was appointed in 1902, when a general system of education was inaugurated. The course of study is similar to that adopted in Saskatchewan and Alberta. No teachers are employed unless they hold at least a second class certificate, with normal school training. There are at present two permanent school centres, viz., Dawson and Whitehorse. At Dawson there are two schools: (1) the Dawson Public School of seven departments, including two departments for high school work; (2) St. Mary's Roman Catholic Separate School, the teachers of which are chosen from the Sisters of St. Ann. The high school branch of the Dawson Public School was instituted in 1903. There are two teachers in charge of this branch, one a specialist in classics, modern languages and history, the other a specialist in mathematics and science. In the high grades of the Dawson High School the course of study prescribed